Gå til innhold
Arkivverket

[#58252] Marith Jonsdatter

Gjest Ron Thorstad
 Del

Gjest Ron Thorstad

I know, I know, a very common name, but I need helping finding info on my great grandmother Marith Johnsdatter. All we know about her is that she married Nils Nielsen Tørstad at the Høre Stave Church (I think that was the church) in Vang, Valdres on April 3, 1857. I have lots of information about Nils from Vang, but almost nothing on Marith. There was a mention of the Nefstad farm in some family correspondence, her possible birth farm, but that is unconfirmed. She even remained a mystery after emigrating with Nils to the Sacred Heart, MN area.I'm a complete novice at 'internet genealogy,' so any help would be greatly appreciated!!ronthorstad@hotmail.com

Lenke til kommentar
Del på andre sider

Gjest Ottar Solberg

I found a marriage between Marith Johnsdatter and Niels Endresen Brækken on 3 April 1857. Marith parents was John Knudsen Nebstad and Marith Hansdatter. They married on July 21, 1835. John Knudsen was 57 y. and Marith Hansdtr. 34 y. Marith Johnsdatter was born June 24, 1836. [url="http://www.arkivverket.no/URN:kb_read?idx_kildeid=8998&idx_id=8998&uid=ny&idx_side=-132>Lenke

Lenke til kommentar
Del på andre sider

Gjest Ron Thorstad

Wow, this is interesting. I thought my great grandfather, Niels Endresen was from the Tørstad farm, which was the name (Thorstad) that he and Marith took here in America. Perhaps after their marriage they moved from the Brækken to the Tørstad farm and then emigrated from there? Also, why do you suppose Marith's farm name is also Brækken at the time of their marriage?

Lenke til kommentar
Del på andre sider

Gjest Ron Thorstad